League Tables




Forum Discussion



Grand Prix

Congress Reports



Bristol 4NCL


Contact Us





Grand Prix Secretary Report 2009 - 2010    -   Steve Woolgar


Eleven events subscribed to the Grand Prix this year (an increase of two from the previous year) and of those five were League based and six were Club based and my thanks to the organizers, both for running the events and for including them in the Grand Prix.


This year the sections were divided by grade, and the resulting effect has been positive with a fairly similar number of players qualified for each section and as such I am keeping the structure the same for the new season.


The inclusion of extra events has meant that the prize fund has increased slightly from the previous season to £327.00, which in turn has meant an increase in the prize money.


Over the year 116 League members from 16 clubs and schools competed in the eleven events on 278 occasions scoring a total of 4483.5 Grand Prix points. Thirteen players scored 100 points or more (up from last year’s 7) and of these thirteen, three passed 150 points and one made it past 200.


The Prizewinners are as follows


          Open                     1st      James Sherwin                Bath            £45.00

                                      2nd     Dominic Bennett              Clifton         £20.00

                                      3rd      Paul Helbig                     Keynsham    £10.00


          U-170                    1st      Alan Papier                     Clifton         £45.00

                                      2nd     Roger Hardy                   Grendel       £20.00

                                      3rd      Howard Millbank             Horfield       £10.00


          U-140                     1st      Duncan MacArthur          Keynsham    £45.00

                                      2nd     Graham Strickland Horfield       £20.00

                                      3rd      Graham Mill-Wilson        Yate            £10.00


          U-110                     1st      Harvey Atkinson             Horfield       £45.00

                                      2nd     Geoff Gammon               Downend     £20.00

                                      3rd      Simon Denney                 Bristol Univ£10.00


          Junior                     1st      Tom Thorpe                   Pete’s Potentials    £15.00 + Trophy

                                      2nd     Aidan Chivers        Pete’s Potentials    £10.00

                                      3rd      Matthew Wilson    Downend              £5.00


          Team                    1st      Bristol & Clifton                                 £15.00


Anyone wishing to register an event should contact me by either

Tel:    0117 960 6158 (Answerphone)   or  email:   steve.woolgar@blueyonder.co.uk 


Steve Woolgar


Grand Prix Secretary








Play Chess online

Local Websites

Clifton Chess Club

Horfield Chess Club

University Chess Club

Downend Chess Club

Clevedon Chess Club

South Bristol Chess Club