League Tables




New Forum



Grand Prix

Congress Reports



Bristol 4NCL


Contact Us










League Season 2010 - 2011

League Handbook 2010-2011                     Match Secretary Report 2011

League Champions League Tables Results in Full League Knockout Winners Minor Knockout Winners
Clifton     Clifton

Report Photos & Games



League Honours  
Division One Division Two Division Three Division Four
Clifton University A Cabot Thornbury B


Bristol League Congress 2011 Bristol Winter Congress Dec 2010


Cotswold Congress 2011 - Photos & Games



   Frome Congress - May 6 - 8th

Open Section

PGN        CBV    ( All 56 games )

1st Christopher Jenks  4/5 ( Southbourne )


Major Section

1st = Russell Barlow 4/5 ( South Bristol )

Minor Section

1st = Geoff Gammon 4/5 ( Downend )

Full Results & Wallcharts


Knockout Final Report

Clifton win the League Knockout 5 - 3 at the polish club

Minor league Knockout

Clifton 5 Hanham 

Minor Knockout Final On Youtube

Minor KO Report on Youtube!

Hanham Chess Club Gambit Night

1st David Buckley

Hanham Gambit Night on Youtube

Hanham Gambit Photos on Youtube

Chris Beaumont Blind Simul on Youtube


 Chipping Sodbury Rapidplay

14 min Video of the Final Round



Open Section

1st    Derek Pugh (5/6)

2nd = Jim Sherwin, Joey Stewart & Stewart Hutchings (4/6)

Grading prize -  EM White

Minor Section

1st Tom Thorpe  (6/6) 2nd Beryl Hughes (4/6)

Grading Prize - John Burrows (4/6)


1st Bristol spring Congress

Fri - Sun   Apr 1st -3rd

Filton Sports & Leisure Centre      



 OPEN   24 players


1st – Ben Edgell (Sedgemoor) (5/6) 100

2nd= James Cobb (Clifton) and James Sherwin (Bath)  (4.5/6) 40 each

 Grading prize – Jody Johnson (Clifton) (4/6) 30

 MAJOR   17 players

 1st – Michael Harris (Horfield)  (5.5/6)  80 + chess clock (donated by Clifton Chess Club)

2nd=  Patrick Flexman (Grendel)  and Harvey Atkinson (Horfield) (4.5/6) 30 each

 Grading prize – Jon Fisher (Horfield)  (4/6)  20


 As a result of entry fees and donations, a total of 240 was presented to Macmillan Cancer Support.


Open Section   Pgn  All the Games

1st = David Buckley, Patryk Krzyzanowski

Major Section

1st = Jack Paton, Duncan Macarthur


David Buckley v Richard McMaster


CJ De Mooi

( ECF President ) from BBC's Eggheads


Duncan Macarthur v Bob Radford


Steve Woolgar v Lynda Roberts

David Buckley

Patryk Krzyzanowski

Jack Paton

Duncan Macarthur


  Dec 3rd - 5th  -    Bristol Winter Congress

Report   on the three sections together with Photos and Games


Open Section -  Chris Beaumont ( Clifton )  4/5

Major Section - Jody Johnson  ( Clifton )     4/5

Minor Section - Alec Watson   ( Downend )  4/5














Play Chess online